Design Project 2 Event Ad

P2HaleyRomney-page-001-2

  1. Description: This is an ad for a local Relief Society’s family history night.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I used a word document to create this. I used a lot of layering to create the different colors and  shapes. I tried to create repetition with the lines, and the text boxes, as well as with the circles of the pictures.
  3. Message: My message is that family history is a worthwhile use of time and it is fun to do with other people.
  4. Audience: My audience is all the Relief Society sisters of 69th Ward.
  5. Color scheme and color names: I used a monochromatic color scheme: Green, Lime, and Yellow. I muted the colors to make them a bit more “homey” feeling.
  6. Top Thing Learned: I learned so much tying to use a Word document. There were a lot of little tricks I missed from InDesign that I had to live without, like my grid lines and some text box formatting. I had to learn  how to create the same effect with a much simpler set of tools.
  7. Title Font Name & Category: Didot: Modern/Transitional
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: InaiMathi: Sans Serif
  9. Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used: My scanned images were of the three people. I got these from a booklet about Idaho Falls Power. They were originally 2 by 2.5, 7 by 5.5, and 4.5 by 7, respectively.  They were all scanned in the Spori Lab.
2 thoughts on “Design Project 2 Event Ad

  1. Haley,

    I liked how you kind of matched up the images with a similarly placed text box. The color scheme you used is often associated with Family History as well, so good choice. Old photos tend to make people think a little more. I don’t know how to explain it, but they just cause a curiosity among the viewers. With the photos going from oldest person at the top to youngest at the bottom, it creates a subconscious sense of history as well. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

