Last Transfer and Last Transfer

Hey family!

Well we are waiting for transfer news and this morning I made a big list of things to tell you because last week’s email sucked. My apologies. I’ll try to get through as many of these things as I can..
Ok first, transfer news came in, and I’m going to Ipoh, west malaysia for my last transfer!! I am SOO excited out of my brains. I’ve wanted to be back in West Malaysia for a long time, so it is going to be great! My new companion is named Sister Kricanec, she is in sister Bradfield’s group, so she has three transfers left. Oh its going to be great!!
Ok so here’s going into the list:
1. We had zone meeting on tuesday and it was so good. Just what I needed. We talked about following the spirit. After talking about how answers come, we had one companion be blindfolded and the other companion was the Holy Ghost. Well, Sister Fonbuena chose to be blindfolded, and I was the Spirit 😀 We went through a maze of chairs, and she had to ask me questions. I could only answer Yes or no. Well she learned quickly she could ask if she could go left and still hit a chair, so the thing we learned most was asking the question “Is going left the best thing I could do?” Then If I said no, she knew to go right. It was a very powerful example to me of how we can follow the spirit.
2. After Zone meeting, I got a blessing from four Elders in my district. I was just still kind of hurting over the BYU Provo rejection and was trying to come to terms with BYU-I. Well the blessing was amazing. Just one thing that stood out was that I would understand why this happened and have all the answers I needed before I go home. I was counselled to focus on prayer and my relationship with Heavenly Father. Also I was told to be close to my family at this time and take their advice (so if you have any, I’m all eyes). It was such a great thing for me right now,
3. We had a stop of the yearly mission tour on wednesday! I met Elder Funk of the Seventy AGAIN!! I’ve met him at least five times now and he is a very funny man.
4. Good news! Brother P wants to be baptized again! However, he is the hospital again and not doing too well. He is also struggling to remember things. It looks like early stages of Alzheimer’s. We don’t know if he will be able to pass the baptismal interview, but we are trying not to worry about that too much. We will just take it one day at a time. We are tying to teach in very short lessons with lots of pictures to try to help him remember things. He is so sweet, I hope he can manage for a little longer.
5.We had a way cool miracle with our indian-orang ulu family!! We dropped by to see if the kids were home so we could teach them. Well only H was home, but as we chatted with her, both her parents came home as well as her older brother we have never met before. Suddenly the dad was way interested in the Book of Mormon. He is Hindu and hasn’t shown much interest. Hopefully in the coming weeks he will become a real investigator.
6.  We called brother L, the less active, and he received some sad news. We just prayed with him and testified that even though we don’t know how he feels, Jesus does. We’ll go see him before I go. I hope he’ll be ok.
7. I gave a talk in church!! I was allowed to choose the topic, so I spoke on “We follow jesus when we keep commandments and make covenants.” I was fun to talk about. Here is a quote I used:
“for some of us, obedience to God’s commandments doesn’t always feel very joyful. Let’s face it: there may be some that seem harder or less appealing—commandments that we approach with the enthusiasm of a child sitting before a plate of healthy but hated vegetables. We grit our teeth and force ourselves to comply so that we can move on to more desirable activities.
Perhaps during times such as these, we might find ourselves asking, “Do we really need to obey all of God’s commandments?”
My response to this question is simple:
I think God knows something we don’t—things that are beyond our capacity to comprehend! Our Father in Heaven is an eternal being whose experience, wisdom, and intelligence are infinitely greater than ours.4 Not only that, but He is also eternally loving, compassionate, and focused on one blessed goal: to bring to pass our immortality and eternal life.5
In other words, He not only knows what is best for you; He also anxiously wants you to choose what is best for you.
If you believe this in your hearts—if you truly believe the great mission of our Heavenly Father is to exalt and glorify His children and that He knows best how to do it—doesn’t it make sense to embrace and follow His commandments, even the ones that appear difficult? Should we not cherish the light posts He has given that guide us through the darkness and the trials of mortality? They mark the way back to our heavenly home! By choosing Heavenly Father’s path, you lay a divine foundation for your personal progress as a daughter of God that will bless you throughout your life.”
Well family! Thats it for me this week! Next week I’ll be in West Malaysia again! I love you!!
Sister Romney
Leave a Reply

