tough week

Hey family! Did you know that I will get to see all your beautiful faces in only three short days?? I’m so jazzed out of my pants…er well, skirt. You get the point though. 

So, I’m going to be honest. This week was really hard. Not like, “I’m going to quit” hard, but probably harder than all my time in Kuching, which isn’t saying much because so far has been pretty smooth sailin’. But I don’t feel like it is the hardest thing I’ve done, and not the hardest week a missionary has ever had, so I feel like I have no room to complain, but I just thought you might like to know that. For some reason, I feel like I lost some of my momentum. When U and E

dropped us, it really threw a wrench in my ideas and plans for my time in Kuching. I guess I shouldn’t have taken it as hard as I did, or at least moved on sooner, but man, I felt like I was biking up a hill this week after having stopped at the bottom. Just lots of cranking and pushing and going. However, we got through it and are excited for the week coming up!!
The biggest thing we did this week was caroling!! We not only caroled for the branch for the last time, but we have started caroling as a contacting tool. I don’t know if I have stressed enough just how tone deaf most asians are, so they REALLY like when we sing. Haha we went to a park on tuesday night with Sister Coward and Sister Hales (the STLs, the “other” kuching sisters, the sentosa sisters, these are all their titles). We literally said “hello” to one person as we passed and suddenly I was engaged in a conversation with a wonderful chinese lady (we spoke english…my chinese isn’t that good). We walked and talked for at least 40 minutes. She really opened up to me about her life and how she believes in Jesus Christ but feels she can’t be baptized because of her children and husband. She kept saying “maybe God sent you to me tonight.” I really believe that. She doesn’t live in Kuching, but her brother’s family does. Sister Coward was talking to the mother and we are going to visit them on tomorrow, hopefully. On Wednesday we went caroling outside a mall and met lots of people. Lots for the other sisters, but also one family for us that we are visiting on wednesday 😀 This whole caroling thing is GENIUS!! We also did it one other day at the park (but actually caroled this time) and we met the funniest four girls. They are all sisters and the first thing they asked was where we were from. When we said America, I thought they might cry with joy. LIterally. They were so so excited it was pretty funny. We talked for a while, took WAY too many pictures with them and then invited them to the enrichment activity we had satursday. They came!! We are meeting them again on tuesday also.
That was pretty much it for our week. I’m sorry this is so short. I’ve been chatting with all of you, which I would much rather do 😀 Anyway, I’ll see you all on Christmas! Love you!!
Love
Sister Romney
Haley and a real WA apple truck and the workers that unloaded it.  A great name for an internet cafe.  Trying to find people, but just running into the jungle.

Image 2 Image 3 Image 4 Image 5

Leave a Reply

