Called to Singapore

June 13, 2013 was a day to remember for me. Exactly 10 days after turning in my mission application, I received the happy big envelope containing the life changing assignment.

My mom called my work to inform me it had arrived. The rest of my shift couldn’t have gone slower…time seemed to have stopped.

After phone calls to everyone I wanted there (and maybe some I didn’t), we opened my call at seven o’clock. My pulse was racing and for a fleeting moment, I actually thought about not opening it and just staying in this awkward limbo. I was so scared, because one piece of paper held my future.

“You are assigned to labor in the Singapore Mission.” One sentence has never meant so much to me in all my life. I was prepared to go anywhere the Lord needed me, but Singapore hadn’t even crossed my mind. I mean, where is Singapore?

After some extensive research by my dad and best friend, we learned a bit about my mission.

First of all, my mission covers not only Singapore, but Malaysia as well. However, since I’m called to speak English, there is a real chance I won’t leave Singapore proper.

Singapore is a City-State made up of 63 islands all clustered together off the coast of the Malay Peninsula. It is the fourth leading financial center of the world and it is hot. All. The. Time. Below is the climate of Singapore. Long story short? Its in the upper 80s all year long. This for the girl who came from the frigid clutches of Canada only to move to Spokane and sweats at anything hotter than 75 degrees? Yeah. This’ll be interesting.

Screen Shot 2013-06-16 at 6.32.15 PM

Singapore is also reported to be the number three safest city in the world. It also has the second highest execution rate. Funny how those two correlate, huh?

Overall, Singapore is clean and in good health, even if it does have a few odd laws, most centered around the afore mentioned public heath.

Some challenges I’m anticipating in my preparation? Finding clothes that will be of missionary standards AND be cool enough for me not to roast in. I’m also counseled to bring “wash and wear” fabrics…so that rules out a lot of professional choices. However, the Lord will provide! Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

